The Sweet Hereafter

Director: Atom Egoyan Year: 1997 Run Time: 111min
The Sweet Hereafter (De beaux lendemains) (1997)

A lawyer (Holm), pursued by concerns of losing a daughter to drugs, comes to a Canadian town where 20 children have died in a school bus accident. He wants the parents to sue to make those at fault pay. Told partly in flashbacks that dramatize the days leading up to the accident, this heart-wrenching story follows the lawyer from family to family as he coaxes each to join the lawsuit. As momentum for the case builds, he finds himself squaring off against the lone survivor of the accident (Polley), battling against the power of long-held family secrets. Based on the bestselling novel by Russell Banks, this shattering film won eight Genie Awards and garnered two Oscar nominations for Egoyan.

“Cuts to the bone and stays there long after its end credits have finished rolling.” — Michael Dequina,

Staff Pick:

"No Canadian film better explores the subtle ways grief and tragedy shape the lives of everyone everywhere." —Josh


Atom Egoyan


Atom Egoyan


Atom Egoyan, Camelia Frieberg, Robert Lantos, Andras Hamori


Ian Holm, Sarah Polley, Bruce Greenwood, Arsinée Khanjian, Tom McCamus




English, Dubbed in French


English, French


The Sweet Hereafter is set in British Columbia and filmed in British Columbia and Ontario. Atom Egoyan lives in Ontario.

Ratings by Province:

NR Alberta
14A British Columbia
14A Manitoba
14 New Brunswick
14A Newfoundland and Labrador
14 Nova Scotia
NR Northwest Territories
NR Nunavut
AA Ontario
14 Prince Edward Island
G Québec
14A Saskatchewan
14A Yukon