The Sweet Hereafter: Oakville Monday Nights @ the Movies

Film(s) Playing:

The Sweet Hereafter (De beaux lendemains) (1997)

The Sweet Hereafter

Director: Atom Egoyan Run Time: 111min Genre(s): Drama

Show More
Show Less

A lawyer (Holm), pursued by concerns of losing a daughter to drugs, comes to a Canadian town where 20 children have died in a school bus accident. He wants the parents to sue to make those at fault pay. Told partly in flashbacks that dramatize the days leading up to the accident, this heart-wrenching story follows the lawyer from family to family as he coaxes each to join the lawsuit. As momentum for the case builds, he finds himself squaring off against the lone survivor of the accident (Polley), battling against the power of long-held family secrets. Based on the bestselling novel by Russell Banks, this shattering film won eight Genie Awards and garnered two Oscar nominations for Egoyan.

“Cuts to the bone and stays there long after its end credits have finished rolling.” — Michael Dequina,

Cast: Tom McCamus, Arsinée Khanjian, Bruce Greenwood, Ian Holm, Sarah Polley
Ratings by province or territory:
Alberta - NR
British Columbia - 14A
Manitoba - 14A
New Brunswick - 14
Newfoundland and Labrador - 14A
Nova Scotia - 14
Northwest Territories - NR
Nunavut - NR
Ontario - AA
Prince Edward Island - 14
Québec - G
Saskatchewan - 14A
Yukon - 14A
Film language(s): English
Google Map of Oakville,ON

Cineplex Winston Churchill, 2081 Winston Park Dr, Oakville, ON L6H 6P5
Get Directions

Venue: Cineplex Winston Churchill

Date: April 19, 2017

Time: 7:30 PM

Ticket price: Free

Event Details: In celebration of National Canadian Film Day 150 on April 19, TIFF’s national screening outreach programme, Film Circuit, will present 150 free screenings of selected Canada on Screen titles across the country at various Film Circuit locations. Learn more about these and other free programming celebrating Canada 150 at For ticketing information please contact local Film Circuit organizers. For more details please click here:

Event Primary Language: English

Free Admission

Brought to you by:

Ontario 150 logo Ontario Media Development Corporation logo TIFF Film Circuit logo